Academic Senate of California State University, Long Beach <u>Committee/Council Annual Report</u>

YEAR: Academic year 2023-2024

Name of Committee/Council: University Awards Committee

Prepared by: Laura Gonzalez, UAC Chair

Date: October 16, 2024

Members: Laura Gonzalez (Chair), Joanna Barreras, Joshua Cotter, Justin Gomer, Pei-Fang Hung,

Ezra LeBank, Sarah Schrank

MATTERS REPORTED TO THE SENATE

The University Awards Committee carefully deliberated and recommended to the Academic Senate the following award recipients:

Early Academic Career Excellence Award:

Recipient	Department	College
Raisa Hernandez-Pacheco	Biological Sciences	CNSM
Heather Macias	Teacher Education	CEd
Loretta Ramirez	Chicano & Latino Studies	CLA

Distinguished Faculty Scholarly and Creative Achievement Award:

Recipient	Department	College
Andrea Caban	Theatre	COTA
Selena Nguyen-Rodriguez	Health Sciences	CHHS

Distinguished Faculty Research, Scholarly, and Creative Activities Award:

Recipient	Department	College
Perla Ayala	Biomedical Engineering	COE
Marian Stewart	Art	COTA

Distinguished Faculty Advising Award:

Recipient	Department	College
Belinda Daughrity	Speech-Language Pathology	CHHS
Eileen Luhr	History	CLA

Distinguished Faculty Teaching Award:

Recipient	Department	College
Neal Terrell	Computer Engineering & Computer Science	COE
David Teubner	Design	COTA

Outstanding Professor Award:

Recipient	Department	College
Christopher Miles	Art	COTA
Christine Whitcraft	Biological Sciences	CNSM

Nicholas Perkins Hardeman Academic Leadership Award:

Pei-Fang Hung, Speech-Language Pathology

Faculty Excellence in Equity, Diversity and Inclusion Awards:

Shae Miller, Sociology, CLA

Legacy Award:

Tom Maricich, Chemistry & Biochemistry, CNSM

UNFINISHED BUSINESS

• None

INTERNAL PROCEEDINGS/DISCUSSION OCCURRED

• Deliberations were confidential

PRESENTATION/REPORTS RECEIVED

• None

MISCELLANEOUS

• None

ISSUES/RECOMMENDATIONS TO THE ACADEMIC SENATE •

• Not all colleges provided a rationale for their recommendations. Rationale is helpful to the University Awards Committee and helps determine whether the colleges followed DEI criteria and other best practices.