FACULTY COUNCIL

Minutes

September 6, 2024

11:10-1:10 pm via Zoom

In Attendance: Jackie Dawson (PT), David Powell (PPA), Kamiar Alaei (HSC), Nathan Gerard (HCA) (Chair), Ed Garcia (SLP), Janaki Santhiveeran (SW), Becky Nash (CCJEM) (Co-Chair), Michelle Barrack (FCS), Jill Kardously (NUR), Scott Ducharme (KIN), Chung Sup Lee (RLS), Grace Reynolds-Fisher (CHHS), Dean Lounsbery (CHHS) and Maureen Torrez (CHHS ASI Senator)

11:14 am The meeting was called to order.

Approval of the Agenda

The agenda was approved (Passes: Unanimous).

11:14 am Approval of the Minutes

The minutes from the May 3 and May 10, 2024 Faculty Council meeting were approved (Passed: Unanimous).

Dean's Report – Monica Lounsbery

The Dean shared that the CSULB 75th Anniversary Event celebrating the university will take place Saturday, September 28th. Friends and family of the university are invited to attend. CHHS will be hosting a table at the event and Higher Ed will be performing.

It was also shared that details of the strategic planning retreat that occurred over the summer would be shared soon. Also announcing that RTP will be a big topic this academic year as we revise the College RTP policy to align with the new Academic Senate RTP Policy and departments work to revise theirs as well.

Additionally, the council was advised that the college is conducting an ASM search which is expected to be finalized soon and have the position filled by mid-October.

The Dean also shared that the College is looking to bridge a connection with alumni and start an Alumni Engagement series similar to the UCLA Bruin Camp. Alumni would be welcomed back to the BEACH on the Queen Mary to deepen the ties back to Long Beach.

11:15am Academic Senate Report - No report

11:16 am Old Business – none

11:18 am New Business

A. Sub-committee on CHHS Committees

Grace shared the need to start a sub-committee to review CHHS committees and their bylaws. She suggested that the committee be comprised of 3-4 members.

B. Committee Representatives by Department – Tiffanye Vargas

Tiffanye like Grace shared the inconsistencies in the bylaws of committee membership requirements in many CHHS committees. She asked the council to task the sub-committee to review committee memberships, and to present requested changes to Faculty Council and request their feedback before they are presented to the Faculty as a whole for a vote. During the discussion Grace asked the council to consider putting forward a resolution to allow faculty members who do not currently meet the qualifications as stated in the bylaws (i.e. tenure faculty) to serve temporarily on committees in order to continue their work this academic year, as the semester is underway.

C. RTP Policy – Open Forums and Process

Grace shared that now that the revised CHHS RTP policy has been shared with the college it is time to hold townhalls in order to address concerns from the college. The two townhall dates have been set and announced to the faculty. The council was urged to read through the policy as representatives of their department. Once the townhalls have taken place a second version of revised edits will be shared with the faculty for voting. Departments should also simultaneously be working on their department's RTP policy in order to meet the Academic Senate deadline in the spring.

Discussion was had on the whether the document addressed the minimum workload policy. In the discussion it was clarified that the RTP document and minimum workload policy should be kept separate. The RTP document is strictly to specify the expectations of retention, tenure and promotion and should not be viewed as a

workload document. The council was again urged to read through and review the document to become familiar with its content.

D. Dean's Review

Nathan Gerard shared with the council that Dean Lounsbery is up for her 5 year review as Dean. The Dean's office will send out communication to all the faculty who are eligible to serve on the review committee in order to request self-nominations. Once the committee has been established a representative from Academic Senate will send out information regarding next steps for the review committee.

11:42 am Subcommittee Reports

- A. **Sub-committee on CHHS Committees** the committee for AY 24-25 was established and is comprised of the following members Michelle Barrack, David Powell and Jill Kardously.
- B. **RSCA/ Assignments Committee** the committee for AY 24-25 was established and is comprised of the following members Jackie Dawson, Chung Sup and Michelle Barrack.
- C. **Core Lab Committee** the committee for AY 24-25 was established and is comprised of the following members Becky Nash, Scott Ducharme, Chung Sup, Jackie Dawson and Grace Reynolds-Fisher.
- D. **Social Justice Committee** the committee for AY 24-25 was established and is comprised of the following members Becky Nash, Ed Garcia and Kamiar Alaei

Meeting adjourned at 12:55 p.m.

Meeting Minutes submitted by Nancy Espinosa