FACULTY COUNCIL

Minutes

October 4, 2024

11:10-1:10 pm via Zoom

In Attendance: Jackie Dawson (PT), David Powell (PPA), Kamiar Alaei (HSC), Nathan Gerard (HCA) (Chair), Ed Garcia (SLP), Janaki Santhiveeran (SW), Becky Nash (CCJEM) (Co-Chair), Michelle Barrack (FCS), Jill Kardously (NUR), Scott Ducharme (KIN), Chung Sup Lee (RLS), Grace Reynolds-Fisher (CHHS), Dean Lounsbery (CHHS) and Maureen Torrez (CHHS ASI Senator)

Absent: Grace Reynolds-Fisher (CHHS)

11:13 am The meeting was called to order.

Approval of the Agenda

The agenda was approved (Passes: Unanimous).

11:14 am Approval of the Minutes

The minutes from the September 6th Faculty Council meeting were approved (Passed: Unanimous).

11:15am Dean's Report – Monica Lounsbery

The Dean shared with the council that she will be conducting another round of roadshows to visit with each department and provide updates on college-wide initiatives taking place. She also shared an important update to summer which will now be offered on the state-side. The President announced that the university will move back to offering summer on the state-side which will have unknown impacts to budget.

11:40 am New Business

A. RTP Policy Update

1. Townhall Update

Nathan shared that the third and final RTP Townhall will be held October 30th. After the last townhall the policy will revised with the

proposed edits and be presented to faculty council for a vote to meet the Dec. 2nd deadline.

2. Next Steps

Grace and Nathan discussed with the council some of the points of confusion that have resulted from the townhalls surrounding the minimum workload policy and implications on RSCA. Due to some of the lingering questions and points of clarity needed it was proposed that the council meet once more to discuss the RTP policy document before the last townhall. The council agreed to meet prior to the last townhall in order to review and vote on the proposed revisions.

B. Dean's Review Committee

Nathan discussed with the council the self-nominees to the Dean's Review Committee. The council was given a brief introduction of each self-nominee and was asked to vote in order to establish the committee that would conduct the review for AY 24-25. The council voted to elect the following to the Dean's Review Committee: Daniel Bello (Student Representative), Jason Aurand (CHHS IT/ Staff), Wendi Gilchrist (NUR/ Lecturer), Kamiar Alaei (HSC) (Alaine Ocampo (SLP), Nancy Dayne (FCS), Eileen Pasztor (SW). As chair, Nathan will also serve as a member and help set the committee's first meeting and elect a chair.

11:42 am Subcommittee Reports

- A. **RSCA/ Assignments Committee** There are currently two competitions underway, one for early career faculty and the second for those who are mid-career. The sub-committee shared that historically there has been discrepancies in the scoring between groups. By having two competitions the committee hopes that applications will be scored fairly and there will be more transparency.
- B. Shared Core Lab Committee The sub-committee shared that they are working with Steve in order streamline the process and make it more efficient. There was also discussion on what type of training is provided and if there are instructions on how to use equipment. The council agreed that more information would be helpful for those applying to be members.
- C. **Social Justice Committee** No Report (Still in need of a chair)

D. **Sub-committee on CHHS Committees** – It was shared that the committee met to update the GAC document. Upon review it was noted that the sub-committee needed clarification by Grace on a couple items before presenting the revisions to the council for a vote.

Meeting adjourned at 12:59 p.m.

Meeting Minutes submitted by Nancy Espinosa