# **FACULTY COUNCIL**

# Minutes

May 3, 2024

11:10-1:10 pm via Zoom

In Attendance: Vennila Krishnan (PT) (Chair), David Powell (PPA) (Co-Chair), Laura D'Anna (HSC), Nathan Gerard (HCA), Shriya Basu (SLP), Christine Kleinpeter (SW), Becky Nash (CCJEM), Michelle Barrack (FCS), Melissa Dyo for Lucy Van Otterloo (NUR), Alison Ede (KIN), Chung Sup Lee (RLS), Grace Reynolds-Fisher (CHHS)

**Absent**: Dean Lounsbery (CHHS) and Saniya Debose (CHHS ASI Senator)

**Guests**: Pei-Fang Hung (CHHS Senate), AJ Jadalla (RTP Chair), Maria Carpiac (Professional Leave Committee Chair) and Michelle Barrack (Research Committee Chair)

11:15 am The meeting was called to order.

Approval of the Agenda

The agenda was approved (Passes: Unanimous).

11:16 am Approval of the Minutes

The minutes from the April 12, 2024, Faculty Council meeting were approved (Passed: Unanimous).

Dean's Report - No Report

In lieu of the Dean's Report the council discussed the results of the Minimum Workload Policy straw poll.

Grace shared that it is at the Dean's discretion to implement the minimum workload policy, no formal vote is required. The council shared their concerns and requested that there be an opportunity for those who voted "No" to provided feedback as to why they are not favor of adopting this policy. The council agreed that the following would help with the adoption of the policy and increase trust among the faculty.

- Sharing the straw poll results
- Slowing down the implementation process
- Increasing trust among the faculty
- Provide an opportunity for feedback

- Allow opportunity to answer questions
- Dr. Reynolds-Fisher clarified that there will be exceptions to the policy, and that Faculty Council members are to remain neutral.
   And went on to say that the RTP subcommittee is requesting a special meeting next Friday, May 10<sup>th</sup> to review the University RTP policy and how it will align with the College's policy.

### 11:15am Academic Senate Report – Pei Fang Hung

- A. Successful Academic Senate Organizational Meeting
  - Chair: Neil Hultgren (CLA)
  - Vice Chair: Ryan Fischer (CHHS)
  - Secretary: Melissa Dyo (CHHS)
  - At-Large Members: Adam Moore (COTA), Nancy Meyer-Adams (CHHS), Chris Warren (CLA), Chris Miles (COTA),
- B. AY 2024-2025 CBA 20.37 Exceptional Service Award
  - The awardees have been announced yesterday
- C. Policy Work
- Proposed revision of PS 95-19 (Departmentalization Procedures)
   Establishment and Dissolution of Departments and Programs (AS-1081-19/CEPC) Passed
- Resolution Condemning Discriminatory Laws, Policies and Practices
   Aimed at LGBTQIA+ Persons Passed
- Proposed Revision of PS 21-09 Policy on General Education (AS 1244-24/GEGC/CEPC) Continue the work in Fall 2024

#### 11:30 am New Business

- A. Call for the next FC Chair nomination Vennila Krishnan

  Becky Nash was elected as Vice Chair and Nathan Gerard was elected Chair of Faculty Council for AY 2024-25.
- B. Discussion for Quantifying service WTUs Vennila Krishnan Vennila recommended that the council invite Christine Scott-Hayward to explain how she and her faculty have been able to quantify committee service into WTUs.
- C. End of Year Report
  - Professional Leave and Sabbatical committee Maria Claver
     Maria shared that there was a total of 14 sabbatical awards
     offered this year The committee evaluated applications by: clarity
     of the proposal, justification for leave, need for the project/study
     and its influence to the discipline, methods and feasibility of
     timeline, outcomes (not only journal pubs and conferences, but

expected results), how the project falls outside the normal duties of the applicant.

## 2. College RTP committee -- AJ Jadalla

AJ shared with the council her report which included the number of RTP files the committee reviewed. She shared the process of reviewing the files and provided recommendations for what future committee members can do to improve the review process for faculty undergoing review. (The complete report can be found <a href="here">here</a>).

#### 3. Research Committee - Michelle Barrack

Michelle provided a PowerPoint presentation which included an overview of the committees work the past academic year. Sharing the competition deadlines, and how the applications were reviewed for approval. She also provided some of the challenges the committee faced and future recommendations. (The complete report can be found <a href="https://example.com/here">here</a>).

#### **Old Business**

#### A. Straw Poll Results - Vennila Krishnan

It was shared with the council that the minimum workload policy does not require a formal vote, but rather it is at the Dean's discretion. The council shared some of their feelings around the policy and possible reasons for distrust from faculty. The council agreed that although the majority of the faculty are in favor, two-thirds, there are ways for there to be more buy-in from faculty.

# B. RTP Update – Possible additional meeting May 10<sup>th</sup> – Vennila Krishnan

The RTP committee is still working on document and has asked to hold another meeting May 10<sup>th</sup> to present the final draft to the council for their review. Faculty will be asked to review the policy over the summer. Multiple townhalls will be held over the fall semester which will lead to a vote Dec. 2024. Departments have been asked to revise their RTP policy by the end of Spring 2025. and the

C. Status of IRB Protocols – Grace Reynolds-FisherGrace shared that Connie Ireland will continue on as IRB Liaison.

# 11:42 am Subcommittee Reports

- A. **RSCA/ Core Lab Committee** (Becky Nash (Chair), Chung Sup Lee, Alison Ede, Vennila Krishnan and Grace Reynolds-Fisher) no update.
- B. **Social Justice and CHHS Constitution** (Anita Fitzgerald/ Lucy VanOtterloo, Laura D'Anna) The revisions to the CHHS Constitution have been completed and should be sent out to faculty to vote and finalization.

Meeting adjourned at 1:15 p.m.

Meeting Minutes submitted by Nancy Espinosa