## FACULTY COUNCIL

## Minutes

February 2, 2024

11:10-1:10 pm via Zoom

In Attendance: Vennila Krishnan (PT) (Chair), David Powell (PPA) (Co-Chair), Laura D'Anna (HSC), Nathan Gerard (HCA), Shriya Basu (SLP), Christine Kleinpeter (SW), Becky Nash (CCJEM), Michelle Barrack (FCS), Anita Fitzgerald (NUR), Alison Ede (KIN), Chung Sup Lee (RLS), Grace Reynolds-Fisher (CHHS), Saniya Debose (CHHS ASI Senator)

Absent: Monica Lounsbery (Dean, CHHS),

Guests: Pei-Fang Hung (CHHS Senate), Lucy VanOtterloo (NUR)

11:12 am The meeting was called to order.

Approval of the Agenda

The agenda was approved (Passes: Unanimous).

11:13 am Approval of the Minutes

The minutes from the December 1, 2023, Faculty Council meeting were approved (Passed: Unanimous).

11:18 am Academic Senate Report – Pei Fang Hung

- A. RTP Policy Now that the new policy has passed Colleges and Departments will work to establish guidelines that incorporate the new changes.
- B. Cal-GETC and CSU GE Breadth there will now be one GE pathway for CSU and UCs.
- C. Equitable Textbook Access (ETA) The new program will be an optout versus opt-in. Faculty will need to opt-out if they do not want to automatically be charged for the course textbook.
- D. CSULB Cultural Graduation Celebrations dates for each of the cultural ceremonies have been announced and publish on the university website.
- E. Policy Work

- Proposed revision of PS 16-17 Certificate Policy (AS-1138-2024 CEPC) – Second Reading
- Proposed revision of PS 95-19 (Departmentalization Procedures)
   Establishment and Dissolution of Departments and Programs (AS-1081-19/CEPC) Second Reading

## 11:30 am New Business

A. Office Hours Tip Sheet – Tiffanye Vargas

Tiffanye presented a tip sheet to be shared with students to maximize the effectiveness of office hours. She requested the council's feedback on the flyer before it is distributed to all faculty.

B. RTP Policy Reconciliation

The campus has a newly revised RTP policy and as a result the College's policy will need to be revised to align with those revisions. It has been recommended by the Dean that a sub-committee be formed and be tasked with only reviewing the RTP Policy. The committee should be comprised of 5 tenure/ tenure-track faculty members and may include faculty council members. A call will be sent out to the faculty for self-nominations to this sub-committee.

C. Differential Track -RTP (DT-RTP)

This is a newly form sub-committee that will only review the implementation of differential tracks for Associate Professors applying to Full Professor. The sub-committee will help craft the different tracks and how the RTP policies will be applied to these different tracks for review of those applying for tenure and promotion.

## 11:42 am Subcommittee Reports

- A. **RSCA/ Core Lab Committee** (Chung Sup Lee, Alison Ede, Vennila Krishnan, Becky Nash and Grace Reynolds-Fisher) There are a couple proposals pending, the committee will review and send out notices to faculty awaiting approval.
- B. Social Justice and CHHS Constitution (Anita Fitzgerald/ Lucy VanOtterloo, Laura D'Anna) Will review the new position description for Associate Dean FAR search to ensure the inclusion of Diversity and Equity language. The CHHS Constitution edits have been stalled while Academic Senate approves the University Constitution for the incorporation of a DEIA statement and who is allowed to serve on Faculty Council.
- C. Lauda Lecture Planning Committee (Vennila Krishnan, ) The committee has their first meeting planned for next Friday, Feb. 9<sup>th</sup> and an update will be shared during March's meeting.

D. AD FAR Search Committee Report Update (Nancy Meyer-Adams (Chair), Nancy Dayne, Laura Portnoi, Emma Jackson, Steven Irby, Michelle Barrack, Evan Schick, Toni Espinoza-Ferrel, Lei Sun) It was announced that Dr. Nancy Meyer-Adams was elected to serve as chair of the committee.

Meeting adjourned at 11:58 am.

Meeting Minutes submitted by Nancy Espinosa