FACULTY COUNCIL

Minutes

December 1, 2023

11:10-1:10 pm via Zoom

In Attendance: Vennila Krishnan (PT) (Chair), David Powell (PPA) (Co-Chair), Laura D'Anna (HSC), Nathan Gerard (HCA), Alaine Ocampo (SLP), Christine Kleinpeter (SW), Becky Nash (CCJEM), Michelle Barrack (FCS), Grace Reynolds-Fisher (CHHS), Monica Lounsbery (Dean, CHHS), Saniya Debose (CHHS ASI Senator)

Absent: Lucy Van Otterloo (NUR), Chung Sup Lee (RLS)

Guests: Shriya Basu (SLP), Steve Irby (CHHS Facilities Lead)

11:13 am The meeting was called to order.

Approval of the Agenda

The agenda was approved (Passes: Unanimous).

11:14 am Approval of the Minutes

The minutes from the November 3, 2023, Faculty Council meeting were approved (Passed: Unanimous).

11:15 am Dean's Report – Monica Lounsbery

Dean Lounsbery shared with the faculty the college's goal of reducing faculty workload as outlined in the college's strategic plan, priority one. The workload policy presentation has been shared with 8 departments and schools thus far. She expressed her commitment to completing all department presentations by February. Additionally, she asked for the council's help in forming the necessary committees to draft the appropriate policies needed to put the policy into place.

She also shared that some additional support for the College will come by way of directors. The College is looking to hire a Director of DEI, Director of Student Success, and Director of Clinical Partnerships to help provide support to the College and alleviate the burden off of faculty.

The Dean also formally announced Dr. Reynolds-Fisher's decision to step down as Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs and Research. She praised Dr. Reynolds-Fisher for her achievements as Associate Dean and thanked her for her service to the College. Dr. Reynolds-Fisher will be returning to her home department next academic year, beginning in August 2024.

With that, the Dean also announced the need for the chair of Faculty Council to form a search committee to recruit the new Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs and Research. The Dean would like to have the recruitment posted early next year and have the incumbent shadow the current Associate Dean to help with the transition.

11:30 am Academic Senate Update – Vennila Krishnan for Pei-Fang

Vennila shared with the group updates from Academic Senate Chair, Pei-Fang.

- A. Voting Results for University RTP Policy Revision
 - 1. Yes: 154 (70%)
 - 2. No: 65 (30%)
 - 3. Total number of votes 219
- B. Academic Centers & Institutes Continuation Review Committees
 - Needs Ten (10) faculty members (tenure-track, tenured or lecturer faculty) to serve as reviewers
- C. Search Committees for Assistant Vice President for Integrative Academic and Student Success
 - Has two tenured faculty members who volunteered.
 - Need three (3) more.
- D. Resolution in Favor of Free Faculty Choice in Assigning Course Materials, Including Format, and Opposing the 'Equitable' Textbook Access Program – SECOND READING
- E. Policy Work
 - Proposed revision of PS 16-17 Certificate Policy (AS-1138-20/ CEPC)
 - Second Reading
 - 2. Proposed revision of PS 95-19 (Departmentalization Procedures) Establishment and Dissolution of Departments and Programs (AS-1081-19/ CEPC)
 - Second Reading

11:36 am Heat Illness Regulation Training – Steve Irby

As Chief Safety Officer for the College Steven Irby presented to the council information on the CSU Heat Safety Training. He shared that students and faculty who are enrolled in an outdoor course require training annually. Departments that do not offer courses outside, can elect to offer this training to their faculty and students if they wish.

All CSUs are required to offer training after the tragic death of a CSU San Bernadino student who experienced a heat stroke and later permanent brain damage from this event. Faculty are urged to make reasonable accommodations for students when holding a course outdoors and the weather is above 82 degrees.

11:49 am Ongoing Business

A. President's Award Review Committee - Vote

The names of the self-nominees for the President's Award and Review Committee were shared. They were Christine Scott-Hayward, Nathan Gerard, Nancy Meyer-Adams, Debby Rannalli and Connie Ireland.

The council voted and approved unanimously the selfnominations for the President's Award Committee.

B. Lauda Lecture Planning Committee – Update

The list of self-nominees for the Laude Lecture planning committee were shared with the council. The Planning Committee members are: Vennila Krishnan, Lucy Van Otterloo, Erlyana Erlyana, Shriya Basu and Salim Alani.

11:30 am New Business

A. College Faculty Awards

There have been 11 nominations received by Academic Senate for Faculty Awards, this is twice the number as last year. The Dean shared that she would like to implement a College celebration to celebrate faculty and their achievements.

12:23 pm Subcommittee Reports

1. **RSCA/ Core Lab Committee** (Chung Sup Lee, Michelle Alencar, Vennila Krishnan, Becky Nash and Grace Reynolds-Fisher) – Five people have applied for and received their approval for membership.

- Social Justice and FC Constitution (Lucy VanOtterloo, Laura D'Anna and Alaine Ocampo) – The sub-committee shared their suggested revisions and asked the council for feedback. The council suggested that there be a statement regarding BEACH 2030 and incorporating a reference to DEIA for faculty. They also asked for what other items they could tackle in the coming semester.
- 3. **RTP Committee** (Grace Reynolds-Fisher (Chair), Nathan Gerard, David Powell and Christine Kleinpeter) Has passed Academic Senate, and is now awaiting signature from the President.
- 4. Lauda Lecture Planning Committee (Vennila Krishnan and Lucy Van Otterloo) The committee has been established and will meet in the coming days to begin planning for the event.

Meeting adjourned at 12:50 pm.

Meeting Minutes submitted by Nancy Espinosa