Skip to Local Navigation
Skip to Content
California State University, Long Beach
Alcohol, Tobacco & Other Drugs Program
Print this pageAdd this page to your favoritesSelect a small fontSelect a medium fontSelect a large font
 

California DUI Penalties

Drinking and driving is the #1 killer of people ages 17-24 in the U.S.

First Offense within 7 years

With Probation:

  • Alcohol and drug program attendance
  • Attend AA meetings
  • $390-$1,000 fine plus penalty assessments (approximately 180% of total) plus either 48 hours – 6 months in jail and 6 month license suspension; or a 90 day license restriction to and from work, during work, and to and from DUI program following any DMV suspension (if no refusal).

Without probation:

  • 96 hours – 6 months in jail
  • $390- $1,000 fine
  • 6 month license suspension
  • Attend AA meetings

With or without probation:

  • May impound vehicle for 6 months
  • Up to 3 years ignition interlock device (IID) and additional jail if: child passenger was present, 30 MPH over speed limit on freeway, or 20 MPH on other roads, refusal of chemical test, or if .20 BAC or more.
  • Attend AA meetings

Second Offense within 7 years

With Probation:

  • Attendance at 18-30 month AOD program
  • Attend AA meetings
  • $390-$1,000 fine plus substantial mandatory penalty assessments
  • 96 hours – 1 year in jail
  • Installation of ignition interlock device (IID) for up to 3 years and 2 year license suspension, with a possible license restriction to and from work & to and from DUI program after 1 year of suspension and enrollment in DUI program.

Without probation:

  • 90 days- 1 year in jail
  • $390- $1,000 fine (plus substantial mandatory assessments)
  • Attend AA meetings
  • IID up to 3 years and
  • 2 year license suspension
Under 21 Violation of Drinking Laws
Offense Fine License Suspension Other Penalties
Under 21 purchase of consumption
$250 1 year suspension or delay 24-32 hours of community service
Under 21 possession of alcohol in a public place
Max $1000 1 year suspension or delay Up to 6 months in jail
Mis respresent age: False ID
Max $1000 1 year suspension or delay Up to 6 months in jail
Zero Tolerance: illegal to drive after consuming any alcohol; BAC .01% or higher
$250 1 year suspension or delay  
DWI: BAC .08% and above. Non-injury only.
$390-$1000 1 year suspension or delay 96 hours; 6 months in jail; alcohol education