Discussions: Managing Forums, Topics and Messages

Managing Forums, Topics and Messages

Table of Contents

Edit a Forum or Topic

  1. On the main Discussions page, click the Edit Edit icon for the Forum or Topic you wish to edit.
    Edit Topic or Forum screenshot
  2. Select the tab containing the information you want to edit.
    • Note:  Switching between tabs automatically saves any changes made on the current tab.
  3. Make your changes to the Properties.
  4. Click Save if applicable.

Copying a Forum

Copying a forum creates a new forum with the same properties as the original. You can choose to copy the forum’s topics as well as any pinned messages within those topics. Copying a forum does not copy any normal, unpinned messages inside the forum’s topics; however, you can copy or move individual messages from existing topics once the new topics are created.

  1. On the main Discussions page, click Copy Copy on the top tool menu.
    Copy screenshot
  2. Click Copy forum Copy a Forum.
    Copy a Forum link screenshot
  3. From the Forum to Copy list, select the forum you want to copy.
  4. In the New Forum Title field, type a name for the new forum.
  5. Select the options you want:
    • Copy topics - Select this option to copy all of the topics inside the forum; new topics are created with the same titles and properties as the existing ones.
      • Copy pinned messages - If you choose to copy topics, select this option to copy any pinned messages within those topics. If you use pinned messages to post information about a topic (rules, evaluation criteria, etc.) you might want to copy these messages along with the topics.
  6. Click Copy.
    Copy Forum screenshot

Copying a Topic

Copying a topic creates a new topic with the same properties as the original. Links to grade items or competency activities are not copied. You can choose to copy pinned messages along with the topic. Copying a topic does not copy any normal, unpinned messages inside the topic, however you can copy or move individual messages from inside the existing topic once the new topic is created. See Managing Discussion Forums and Topics.

If you want to copy topics into another course offering, see Copying course components between courses. If you want to move a topic from one forum to another, edit the topic and select a new forum from the Forum drop-down list on the Properties tab.

  1. On the main Discussions page, click Copy Copy on the top tool menu.Copy screenshot
  2. Click Copy topic Copy a Topic.
    Copy a Topic link screenshot
  3. From the Forum to Copy list, select the forum containing the topic you want to copy.
  4. From the Topic to Copy list, select the topic you want to copy.
  5. In the New Topic Title field, type a name for the new topic.
  6. From the Copy Destination list, select the forum you want to copy the topic to. If you select multiple forums, multiple copies of the topic are created.
  7. Select Copy pinned messages if you want pinned messages to be copied into the new topic. If you use pinned messages to post information about the topic, you might want to copy these messages.
  8. Click Copy.
    Copy a Topic screenshot

Copying or Moving a Discussion Message

Messages don’t have to remain in the topics they are initially posted to. If you think a message belongs in a different topic, you can move it by copying it and choosing the option to delete the original message. If a message is applicable to more than one topic, you can copy it into as many other topics as you want.

  1. Do one of the following:
    • If you are using the Grid Style message list, open the message and click Copy Copy on the top tool menu.
      • Copy Message Grid Style screenshot
    • If you are using the Reading Style message list, click More actions... beneath the message header, then click Copy Copy on the action bar above the message.
      • Copy Message Reading Style screenshot
  2. Select the Forum and Topic you want to copy the message to.
  3. Select any additional options you want:
    • To copy any replies made to the message, select Copy message replies.
    • To move the message from the current topic into the selected one, select Delete original message after copy completes.
      • Caution: If you choose to delete the original message and do not choose to copy replies, any replies made to the message are deleted.
  4. Click Copy.
    Copy or Move Message screenshot

Reorder Forums and Topics

  1. On the main Discussions page, click Reorder Reorder on the top tool menu.
    Reorder screenshot
  2. From the drop-down list in the Sort Order column, select the position in the list where you want each forum or topic to appear. Forums are ordered relative to each other; topics are ordered within each forum.
  3. If the topics in a forum are not visible, click the Expand Expand icon next to the forum, or click Expand All at the top of the list.
  4. Click Save.
    Reorder and Save screenshot

Deleting Discussion Forums, Topics, or Messages

Delete Discussion Forums or Topics

  1. On the main Discussions page, click Delete icon Delete on the top tool menu.
    Delete screenshot
  2. Select the forums and topics you want to delete.
  3. Click the Delete Selected button.
    Forums and Topics Delete Selected screenshot

Delete a Discussion Message from a Topic

Caution:  When you delete a message, the system also deletes any replies to that message.

  • If you use the Grid Style message list, do one of the following:
    • Select the messages you want to delete in the message list then click the Delete icon Delete Selected Messages icon.
      • Delete Selected Grid Style screenshot
    • Open the message you want to delete and click Delete icon Delete on the top tool menu.
      • Delete Message Grid Style screenshot
  • If you use the Reading Style message list, click the More actions link for that message then click Delete icon Delete icon when it appears.
    Delete Message Reading Style screenshot

Restoring a Deleted Discussion Message

To restore a deleted message, you must have permission to view deleted messages and you must have the Display deleted messages option enabled on the Settings page.

Restore a Deleted Message

Do one of the following:

  • In the Grid Style message list, open the message and click Undelete icon Undelete on the top tool menu.
    Undelete Grid Style screenshot
  • In the Reading Style message list, click the More actions link below the message header, then click Undelete icon Undelete on the action bar above the message.
    Undelete Reading Style screenshot

Note: If the message restored was a reply to another message, and the other message has also been deleted, both messages are restored.

  Last Updated 7/22/11