Warning: Unknown: Unable to allocate memory for pool. in Unknown on line 0
BCCM-CSULB | Audition Information
Menu

Bob Cole Conservatory of Music

New Student Auditions

A performance audition is required for acceptance into the degree programs of the Bob Cole Conservatory of Music. Prospective students should schedule a music auditon before you receive notification of your acceptance into the university. All entering freshmen and undergraduate transfer students who have been admitted to the university are required to pass a performance audition and take a theory placement examination. Students wishing to audition should prepare solo, etude, or art song material from the standard repertoire of approximately 10 minutes in length. The selection(s) should demonstrate both technical and lyrical skills.

The Theory Placement Exam is a diagnostic test used to determine the appropriate level of theory in which the student should enroll. The test is offered on each audition day and the first Friday of each semester.

Pre-screening auditions are required in the piano and graduate vocal/opera programs. Please contact 562-985-4781 for more information.

Department Audition Dates

Spring 2015 Semester Audition Dates

Undergraduate Transfer Students Only:

  • Saturday, October 18, 2014—All Areas

Fall 2015 semester Audition Dates

Undergraduate:

  • Saturday, February 7, 2015—All Areas
  • Saturday, February 14, 2015—Voice And Jazz Only
  • Saturday, February 28, 2015—All Areas Except Voice And Jazz

Graduate:

  • Wednesday, March 11 , 2015

Call 562-985-4781 or email music@csulb.edu to reserve your slot!

Program Information/Audition Repertoire
Program Program Info Audition Rep Area Director
Brass Euphonium euphonium.pdf
Horn horn.pdf
Trombone trombone.pdf
Trumpet trumpet.pdf
Tuba tuba.pdf
Rob Frear rob.frear@csulb.edu
Choral, Vocal, and Opera Undergrad/Grad
choral_letter.pdf
choral_program.pdf
Graduate
grad_voice_opera.pdf
Voice voice.pdf Jonathan Talberg jonathan.talberg@csulb.edu
Conducting (Choral) Graduate choral_conducting.pdf Jonathan Talberg jonathan.talberg@csulb.edu
Conducting (Orchestral) Graduate orch_conducting.pdf Johannes Müller-Stosch johannes.mstosch@csulb.edu
Composition Undergraduate comp_ugrad.pdf
Graduate comp_grad.pdf
Alan Shockley alan.shockley@csulb.edu
Jazz Undergrad/Grad jazz_letter.pdf Jazz Rep jazz.pdf Jeff Jarvis jeff.jarvis@csulb.edu
Keyboard Piano piano.pdf
Organ organ.pdf
Shun-Lin Chou sam.chou@csulb.edu
Music Education Undergraduate music_ed_ugrad.pdf
Graduate music_ed_grad.pdf
Deborah Mitchell deb.mitchell@csulb.edu
Music History Alicia Doyle alicia.doyle@csulb.edu
Percussion Percussion percussion.pdf Ted Atkatz ted.atkatz@csulb.edu
Strings Undergrad/Grad string_letter.pdf Cello cello.pdf
Double Bass double_bass.pdf
Viola viola.pdf
Violin violin.pdf
Moni Simeonov moni.simeonov@csulb.edu
Woodwinds Graduate winds_grad_letter.pdf Bassoon bassoon.pdf
Clarinet clarinet.pdf
Flute flute.pdf
Oboe oboe.pdf
Saxophone saxophone.pdf
John Barcellona john.barcellona@csulb.edu
Side Menu
  • Bob Cole Conservatory of Music
  • California State University, Long Beach
  • 1250 Bellflower Blvd.
  • Long Beach, CA 90840-7101
  • 562-985-4781 phone
  • 562-985-2490 fax

Privacy Policy

© 2002-2014 Bob Cole Conservatory/CSULB