Skip to Local Navigation
Skip to Content
California State University, Long Beach
Science Education banner
Print this pageAdd this page to your favoritesSelect a font sizeSelect a small fontSelect a medium fontSelect a large font
 

Faculty and Staff

You are lucky to be taught by some of the best faculty on campus! Faculty in the Science Education Department have distinguished themselves in numerous ways. They are sought after to work on major projects, they have received numerous grants, awards and they coordinate many projects at the local and national level. Learn more about their grants and projects. This is a partial listing of faculty awards and honors.

You'll find contact information below for Science Education faculty and staff. For general information, contact the Science Education department office at (562) 985-4801 or visit us in HSCI-205.

Chair and Program Advisors

Name Photo Position & Contact Information Office Hours
Lisa Martin-Hansen Lisa Martin-Hansen Chair, Professor
(562) 985-4801
Office: HSCI-205
L.MartinHansen@csulb.edu
Lisa Martin-Hansen View Faculty Website
By appointment
Tim Williamson Tim Williamson Science Credential Program Advisor
Classes: SCED 475
(562) 985-5949
Office: HSCI-218
Tim.Williamson@csulb.edu
Open Advising Hrs:
Tu,Th 1:00-5:00pm;
W 12:00-5:00pm
Al Colburn Al Colburn Graduate Program Advisor
(562) 985-5948
Office: HSCI-216
Alan.Colburn@csulb.edu
Al Colburn View Faculty Website
Tu,Th 12:00–1:00pm; right after class; or by appt.

Science Education Staff and Faculty - Fall 2013

Name Photo Position & Contact Information Office Hours
Danny Ames Danny Ames Web Developer
(562) 985-1407
Office: HSCI-154
Daniel.Ames@csulb.edu
 
Tamara Araya Tamara Araya Lecturer
(562) 985-4801
Office: HSCI-205
taraya@lbschools.net
 
Stephanie Bauer Stephanie Bauer Lecturer
(562) 985-4801
Office: HSCI-210
sbauer@lbschools.net
W 7:00–8:00pm;
or by appointment
Katie Beck Katie Beck Lecturer
(562) 985-4801
Office: HSCI-206
kbboogie@yahoo.com
 
Hellen Carcamo Hellen Carcamo Department Coordinator
(562) 985-4801
Office: HSCI-205
Hellen.Carcamo@csulb.edu
Monday - Friday
8 am - 5 pm
Merlin Driggs Merlin Driggs Student Teacher Supervisor
(562) 985-4801
Office: HSCI-205
mdriggs971@aol.com
 
Sally Driggs Sally Driggs Student Teacher Supervisor
(562) 985-4801
Office: HSCI-205
sdriggs971@aol.com
 
Suzan Gomez-Zwiep Suzan Gomez-Zwiep Associate Professor
(562) 985-5574
Office: HSCI-204
Susan.GomezZwiep@csulb.edu
Tu 8:30-9:30am;
W 4:00-5:00pm
Jill Grace Jill Grace Lecturer
(562) 985-4801
Office: HSCI-206
gracejill@mac.com
 
Laura Henriques Laura Henriques Professor
(562) 985-1408
Office: HSCI-214
Laura.Henriques@csulb.edu
Laura Henriques View Faculty Website
Tu 2:30-4:30pm; Th 7:45-8:15pm; or by appt.
Tom Kelty Tom Kelty Professor
(562) 985-4589
Office: HSCI-314
T.Kelty@csulb.edu
M,W 11:30am–12:30pm;
Th 3:00–4:00pm; or by appt.
Jim Kisiel Jim Kisiel Associate Professor
(562) 985-1325
Office: HSCI-208
J.Kisiel@csulb.edu
Th 3:30–4:30pm;
or by appointment
Keith Miller Keith Miller Lecturer
(562) 985-4801
Office: HSCI-212
kwmiller@lbschools.net
Tu 7:00–8:00pm;
or by appointment
Rose Olivares Rose Olivares Student Teacher Supervisor
(562) 985-4801
Office: HSCI-205
rao-mew@pacbell.net
 
Myra Pasquier Myra Pasquier Lecturer
(562) 985-4801
Office: HSCI-212
Myra.Pasquier@csulb.edu
Not teaching Spring 2014 semester
William Ritz William Ritz Professor Emeritus, Student Teacher Supervisor
(562) 985-4802
Office: MIC-002
William.Ritz@csulb.edu
William Ritz View Faculty Website
 
William Straits William Straits Associate Professor
(562) 985-1965
Office: HSCI-202
W.Straits@csulb.edu
Immediately after class; or by appointment
Jo Topps Jo Topps Lecturer
(562) 985-4801
Office: HSCI-212
jtopps@wested.org
M 7:00–8:00pm
Brett Wiley Brett Wiley Lecturer
(562) 985-4801
Office: HSCI-206
bwiley80@gmail.com
 
Sharon Writer Sharon Writer Lecturer, Student Teacher Supervisor
(562) 985-1966
Office: HSCI-210
Sharon.Writer@csulb.edu
Not teaching Spring 2014 semester
Rod Ziolkowski Rod Ziolkowski Lecturer
(562) 985-4801
Office: HSCI-206
rodziolkow@aol.com
Not teaching Spring 2014 semester