### ACADEMIC SENATE 2020-21 Minutes ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING

Thursday, May 13, 2020, 2:00 - 2:30 pm

Zoom Link: https://https://csulb.zoom.us/j/84182660160

- 1. CALL TO ORDER- 2:02 pm. JZP begins with land acknowledgement.
- APPROVAL OF AGENDA- MSA
- WELCOME OF NEW SENATORS
- 4. PRESENTATION of NICHOLAS PERKINS HARDEMAN ACADEMIC LEADERSHIP AWARD- JZP states the purpose and evaluation criteria for this award. Deborah Hamm is the winner this year and AS applauds her.
- SPECIAL ORDERS
  - 5.1 Report from CSULB President Jane Conoley, TIME CERTAIN 2:10 PM JC reports on continuing wait on vaccine policy, possible announcement coming next Monday. No update on budget available currently. Alumni center construction has begun and new student housing on Atherton will be open by June 15. LH asks about salary issues for current faculty with regards to new faculty making more than current ongoing faculty.
  - 5.2 Report from CFA Co-President Deborah Hamm DH reports on issues CFA are working on including bargaining, equity in salary, community building and contract negotiations.
- 6. ELECTION OF CHAIR-
  - Each candidate will be allowed 60 seconds to make a statement. Both candidates make their statements, vote- JZP 24, NH 44 = Neil Hultgren winner
- 7. ELECTION OF VICE CHAIR
  - Each candidate will be allowed 60 seconds to make a statement. One candidate Pei-Fang Hung, vote = 63 votes= Pei-Fang Hung winner
- 8. ELECTION OF SECRETARY
  - Each candidate will be allowed 60 seconds to make a statement. One candidate Dina Perrone, vote =62 = Dina Perrone winner
- 9. SEQUENTIAL ELECTION OF **FOUR** MEMBERS AT LARGE OF THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE
  - Mehrdad Aliasgari, COE
  - Nancy Meyer-Adams, CHHS
  - Kris Zentgraf, CLA
  - Christine Zang, COB

#### Member at Large Voting 21-22

Member at large #1	Vote 1	Vote 2	Vote 3
Mehrdad Aliasgari	39		
Kris Zentgraf	28		
Member at large #2	Vote 1	Vote 2	Vote 3
Nancy Meyer-Adams	36		
Kris Zentgraf	31		
Member at large #3	Vote 1	Vote 2	Vote 3
Kris Zentgraf	31	36	
Christine Kang	26	30	
Jonathan O'Brien	10		
Member at large #4	Vote 1	Vote 2	Vote 3
Shahab Derakshan	7		
Nellie Wieland	22	22	30
Christine Kang	13	32	36
Jonathan O'Brien	25	13	

## 10. ELECTION/CONFIRMATION OF COLLEGE/UNIT REPRESENTATIVES TO THE NOMINATING COMMITTEE- approved by AS

- Shahab Derakshan
- Nellie Wieland
- Chris Warren
- Becky Nash
- Chloe Pascual
- Kirstyn Chun
- Laura Gonzalez Alana
- Debra Windle,
- Heather Macias
- Perla Ayala
- One senator from each academic college (two from the College of Liberal Arts), one senator from the University Library, one senator from Counseling and Psychological Services, and one lecturer senator.

#### 11. ADJOURNMENT= 3:14 pm

# ACADEMIC SENATE AGENDA MEETING #18

Thursday, May 13, 2021, 2:30 – 4:00 pm Zoom link: https://csulb.zoom.us/j/84182660160

- 1. CALL TO ORDER- 3:14 pm
- APPROVAL OF AGENDA- MSA
- APPROVAL OF MINUTES
  - 3.1 Academic Senate meeting of May 6, 2021 MSA as amended
- 4. REPORTS OF STANDING COMMITTEES AND COUNCILS
  - 4.1 Executive Committee: Announcements- JZP announces hy-flex training for meetings to be available for faculty, staff and students. Update on anti-blackness and racial justice work upcoming by the end of May. New Provost, Deans, UHP Director and many searches upcoming in the fall. JZP thanks the members of the Executive Committee for their work this year on Senate.
  - 4.2 Nominating Committee Nominations- all nominees approved by acclamation ASI JUDICIARY BRANCH

Kathryn Perkins, CLA [F2021-Sp2022]

ASI SOCIAL JUSTICE AND EQUITY COMMITTEE

Danielle Kohfeldt, CLA [F2021-Sp2022]

UNIVERSITY STUDENT UNION BOARD OF CONTROL

Maricela Correa, CLA [F2021-Sp2022]

UNIVERSITY STUDENT UNION BOARD OF TRUSTEES

Toni Espinoza-Ferrel, CHHS [F2021-Sp2022]

- 5. CONSENT CALENDAR- all items have passed second reading and are approved
  - 5.1 Proposed addition of member, Advisory Council on Strategic Enrollment Management (AS1149-21/AS)--SECOND READING
  - 5.2 Proposed Independent Program Status, American Studies Program (AS-1150-21/AS)--SECOND READING
  - 5.3 Proposed elevation of the B.A. Degree in Family and Consumer Sciences: Child Development and Family Studies with an emphasis in Child Development and Family Studies or Family Life Education to the B.A. Degree in Child Development and Family Studies with an Option in Child Development and Family Studies or Family Life Education—(AS-1147-21/AS) SECOND READING
- 6. SPECIAL ORDERS N/A

#### 7. UNFINISHED BUSINESS

- 7.1 Proposed revision of PS 84-06, Educational Leave (AS 1120-20/CEPC)--SECOND READING resuming on line 23, amendment moved and seconded. Replace language on lines 29-34 with "Students may apply for .....program" vote on amendment, yes=50 no=3, amendment passes. No additional amendments. Vote on policy as a whole, yes=53 no= 3 Policy Passes
- 7.2 Proposed revision of PS 95-19, Establishment and Dissolution of Departments and Programs-(AS-1081-19/CEPC)--SECOND READING
- 8. NEW BUSINESS N/A
- 9. ADJOURNMENT- moved and seconded to adjourn, approved by acclamation. Adjourn at 3:33.

AS Attendance 5-13-21
Adam Schwartz
Alan.Colburn
Alex Guerrero
Alicia Del Campo
Allan Taing
Allison.Butler
Ann Kinsey -
Ann.Radzicki
Aparna Nayak
Asieh Jalali- Farahani
Becky Nash
Boualoy.Dayton
Brenda Lopez-
Brian Jersky
Brian Katz
Chailin.Cummings
Chloé Pascual
Chris Brazier
Christian Molidor
Christine Kang
Christopher Karadjov
Christopher Warren
Cody Arnold
Colleen Ryan
Courtney Stammler
Curtis Bennett
Dan O'Connor
Dave Stewart
David Shafer
Debi Windle
Deborah.Hamm LB
Diandra Porter
Dina Perrone
Donna Green
Eileen Klink
Elizabeth Guzik
Emily MacDonald
Ferdinand Arcinue
Flora Banuett (fb)
Heather Macias
Henry O'Lawrence
Hiromi Masunaga
Isaac Julian
Jalal Torabzadeh
Jane.Conoley
Jeet Joshee

Jeff Bentley
Jeff Cook
Jeff.Atherton
Jeffrey Adair
Jeffrey.Pair
Jessica Pandya
Jody Cormack
Jonathan O'Brien
Joshua.Sack
Karen Quintiliani
Kathryn Chew
Keith.Freesemann
Kelly Janousek
Ken Miller
Kerry Johnson
Kierstin.Stickney
Kirsty Fleming
Kirstyn Chun
Kris Zentgraf
Kristin Bonetati
LaShea English
Laura Gonzalez
Laura Portnoi
Leakhena.Nou
lucy Huckabay
Margy Merryfield
Maria Organista
Mary Anne Rose
Meghan Griffith
Mehrdad Aliasgari
Michael LaForte
Michael Solt
Michele Cesca
Mimi Nakajima
Min.Yao@csulb.edu
Mischelle Van Brakle
Moni Simeonov
Monica Lounsbery
Nancy Meyer-Adams
Natalie.Cheffer
neal.schnoo
Neil Hultgren
Nellie.Wieland
Norbert.Schurer
Paul Sun
Paul.Scotton
Pei-Fang Hung
I ciri alig Hulig

Perla Ayala
Peter.Kreysa
praveen soni
Praveen Shankar
Richard Marcus
Rosa Trujillo
Roudi Roy
Ryan Taber
Sabine Reddy
Scott Apel
Sean.Smith
SHABNAM SODAGARI
Shahab Derakhshan
Sharon Olson
Shireen Pavri
Stephanie Hartzell
Steve.boyer
Susan Jacobs
Terri.Armstrong
Tim Mozia
Vasanthy Narayanaswami
Von Dominguez
Wendy Reiboldt
William Mohr
Youngok Jung
118 total