ACADEMIC SENATE Minutes MEETING #15

Thursday, April 14, 2022, 2:00 – 4:00 pm Zoom link: <u>https://csulb.zoom.us/j/97606370449</u>

- 1. CALL TO ORDER- 2:02, NH began with land acknowledgment.
- 2. APPROVAL OF AGENDA- P Soni makes a motion to amend the agenda to postpone item 7.1 (the Emeritus policy). vote on motion to remove from agenda, moved and seconded. Vote yes=36 no=9. Motion passes, item 7.1 postponed. Approve agenda as amended, moved by P Soni, seconded and approved as amended.
- APPROVAL OF MINUTES- moved by P Soni, seconded and approved.
 3.1 Academic Senate meeting of April 7, 2022

4. REPORTS OF STANDING COMMITTEES AND COUNCILS

4.1 Executive Committee: Announcements – NH announces that this is the 2nd of 3 meetings in a row, and we hope to finish at least one policy today. Reminder of Legacy Lecture on 5-12-22 at the Anatol Center. Invitation to Reimagine Faculty zoom meeting.

 4.2 Nominating Committee Nominations – vote on nominations. Yes=43 no=2. All nominations pass GEGC:

Dr. Wenlu Zhang, Assistant Professor, CECS, COE as a replacement member for Dr. Oscar Morales-Ponce who is on sabbatical.

GEGC:

Jianqing "Fisher" Wu, Assistant Professor, Department of Information Sciences, COB **ACIP:**

Caitlin Fouratt, Associate Professor, Department of International Studies, CLA

- 5. CONSENT CALENDAR
 - 5.1 Proposed Revision of PS 14-08: Honors for Undergraduate Students (AS-1083-19/CEPC)—SECOND READING (passed at close of meeting)
- 6. SPECIAL ORDERS

N/A

7. UNFINISHED BUSINESS

- 7.1 Proposed Revision of PS 17-19: Policy on the Rights and Privileges of Emeritus Faculty—SECOND READING- Removed from agenda per motion by PS
- 7.2 Proposed Revision of PS 17-08: Academic Administrators, Policies and Procedures for the Selection, Appointment, and Review of (AS-1114-20/FPPC)—SECOND READING, TIME CERTAIN 2:30 PM- resuming on line 154, motion to change "probationary" to "tenure-track" NH moved, seconded DP, KF friendly amendment "pre-tenure tenure-track" vote on amendment. Yes=37 no=7. Amendment passes. Line 214 P Shankar amendment, skipping at this time. Line 222 BK amendment, moved by BK, PS second. Add phrase "from the same constituency, if possible" vote; yes=37 no=4. Amendment passes. Line 247, NH amendment, moved and seconded. add "or designee" approved by acclamation. Line 248, Hultgren/Perrone Amendment, DP moved, NH seconded. Add phrase "the committee is expected to take advantage of...alternate workshop options" vote on amendment; yes=31 no=14. amendment

passes. Line 264 P Shankar moves, PS second. Add "the search committee…is followed" vote yes 37=no=7. Amendment passes. Line 268-278, P Shankar amendment, remove these lines, seconded PS. Vote; yes=29 no=13. Amendment passes. Line 274 Russo amendment, S Olson seconded. add "Staff council executive committee" vote; yes=29 no=13. Amendment passes. Line 275 P Shankar amendment, PS second. Add "any other entity"; vote yes=37 no=6. Amendment passes. Line 277 Hultgren amendment, K Fleming seconds. Change retreat rights to "opportunity to retreat" vote; yes=37 no=5. Amendment passes. Will change other sections of policy that refer to retreat rights. Line 295 P Shankar amendment, DP seconds. Remove 295-298, replace with new text, if passes; lines 292-293 also removed "and shall prepare...candidate" vote; yes=32 no=5. Amendment passes. Line 324 N Wieland amendment, MA second. Before normally add "the department or program...recommendation" vote; yes=20 no=21. Amendment fails. Line 325 P Shankar amendment, PS second, add "to the Provost" vote; yes=35 no=4. Amendment passes. Line 326, N Wieland amendment, PS second. Add "and reviewing relevant application materials" will resume at this point next week.

- 7.3 Proposed Revision of PS 16-16: University Honors Programs (AS-1103-19/CEPC)—TIME CERTAIN 3:30 PM Guest: Dr. Sandra Pérez, Director, University Honors Program- currently there are no amendments to this document. No Discussion. Vote on entire policy; yes=35 no=3. **Policy passes.**
- 7.4 Proposed Revision of PS 10-12: Policy on Program Review (AS-1139-20/CEPC)—SECOND READINGbeginning on line 92 N Wieland moved, PS second. Vote; yes=34 no=3. Amendment passes. Line 96 NW amendment, PS second. Delete "faculty, staff, and" vote; yes=31 no=5. Amendment passes. Line 129 NW, PS seconds. Remove word "yearly" vote; yes=34 no=6. Amendment passes. Line 130 NW amendment, PS seconds. Add "when updated" approved by acclamation. Line 263 J Cormack amendment, PS second. "Use rubrics..." vote; yes=35 no=5. Amendment passes. Line 289 Perrone/Hultgren amendment, remove "PS 19-08" approved by acclamation. Vote on entire policy; yes=37 no=2. Policy passes
- 8. ADJOURNMENT- 4:02

AS 4-14-22 Attendance
Alan Colburn
Alessandro Russo
Alexis Pavenick
Alicia Del Campo
Ann Kinsey
Anna Behar-Russell
Anthony Regina
Aparna Nayak
Becky Nash
Bita Ghafoori
Boualoy Dayton
Brian Katz (BK)
Brooke Winder
Chloe Pascual
Chris Brazier
Chris Fowler
Christine Kang
Christopher Warren
Colleen Ryan
Courtney Stammler
Curtis Bennett
Dan O'Connor
Danny Paskin
Deborah Hamm
Dina Perrone
Donna Green
Elizabeth Guzik
Ferdinand Arcinue
Grace Reynolds-Fisher
Heather Macias
Henry O'Lawrence
Jalal Torabzadeh
Jeet Joshee
Jeffrey D. Cook
Jeffrey Pair
Jody Cormack
Karen Quintiliani
Keith Freesemann
Kerry Johnson
Kirsty Fleming
Kris Zentgraf
Laura Gonzalez Alana
Leakhena NOU
Lucy Huckabay
Margaret Merryfield
Maria Lopez

Maria Organista
Mary Anne Rose
Maureen Lem
Mehrdad Aliasgari
Michael LaForte
Nancy Meyer-Adams
Neil Hultgren
Nellie Wieland
Oscar Navarro
Paul Laris
Paul Scotton
Pei-Fang Hung
Perla Ayala
Peter Kreysa
Praveen
Praveen Shankar
Sandra Pérez
Sean Smith
Sharon Olson
Shelbi Felter
Stephanie Hartzell
Tanya Kim
toni
Tracey Mayfield
Vasanthy Narayanaswami
William Mohr
Total: 72