## ACADEMIC SENATE 2019-20 ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING

Thursday, May 2, 2019, 2:00 - 2:30 pm Towner Auditorium (PSY 150)

- 1. CALL TO ORDER
- 2. APPROVAL OF AGENDA Moved, seconded and approved
- 3. WELCOME TO NEW SENATORS
- 4. PRESENTATION of NICHOLAS PERKINS HARDEMAN ACADEMIC LEADERSHIP AWARD—TIME CERTAIN 2:10 pm- Former Hardeman winners were recognized and introduced and photos were taken. NS was given the award by JZP and accepted. A group photo was taken with former winners.
- 5. ELECTION OF CHAIR
  - Each candidate will be allowed 60 seconds to make a statement.
  - Voting for Chair: Yes=57 No=3
  - Chair Jessica Pandya elected
- 6. ELECTION OF VICE CHAIR
  - Each candidate will be allowed 60 seconds to make a statement.
  - Votes for Hultgren= 31 Votes for Colburn=25
  - Vice Chair Neil Hultgren elected
- 7. ELECTION OF SECRETARY
  - Each candidate will be allowed 60 seconds to make a statement.
  - Mehrdad Aliasgari nominated from the floor Vote Yes=51 No=2
  - Secretary Mehrdad Aliasgari elected
- 8. SEQUENTIAL ELECTION OF **FOUR** MEMBERS AT LARGE OF THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE
  - Each candidate will be allowed 60 seconds to make a statement.
  - The four at-large members of the Executive Committee are elected sequentially, i.e., *first* we elect at-large member #1, *then* at-large member #2, *then* at-large member #3, and *finally* at-large member #4.
  - In each of those four elections, we take nominations from the floor and then vote on those nominees. (If there are five or fewer nominees we can vote by clicker; if there are six or more nominees we will have a paper ballot.)
  - Then, two things can happen:
    - Either one nominee receives at least 50% + 1 of the votes cast (abstentions do not count either way). In that case, that nominee is elected, and then we proceed to the next election.
    - Or, no nominee receives at least 50% + 1 of the votes cast. In that case, the nominee with the lowest number of votes is dropped from the ballot and we vote again on the remaining nominees.
      - Then (again), either one nominee is elected with at least 50% + 1 of the votes cast, or the nominee with the lowest number of votes is dropped from the ballot and we vote again—until one nominee has a majority of votes cast.
  - For the next election of a member at large, any nominee from the previous election can be nominated again. However, that nomination is not automatic, but must be named. Then, we go through the whole process again.

•

Member at large #1	Vote 1	Vote 2	Vote 3
Nancy Meyer-Adams	27	33	
Elizabeth Guzik	14		
Dave Stewart	15	23	
Red indicates eliminated			
	Vote 1	Vote 2	Vote 3
Member at large #2			
Pei Fang Hung	24	34	
Elizabeth Guzik	15		
Dave Stewart	16	20	
Red indicates eliminated			
	Vote 1	Vote 2	Vote 3
Member at large #3			
Chalin Cummings	29		
Dave Stewart	14		
Elizabeth Guzik	12		
Red indicates eliminated			
	Vote 1	Vote 2	Vote 3
Member at large #4			
Dave Stewart	28		
Elizabeth Guzik	26		
Deal tealtraction alternation to al			

Red indicates eliminated

•

## 9. ELECTION/CONFIRMATION OF COLLEGE/UNIT REPRESENTATIVES TO THE NOMINATING COMMITTEE

- One senator from each academic college (two from College of Liberal Arts), one senator from the University Library, one senator from Counseling and Psychological Services, and one lecturer senator.
- Nominating Committee nominees:
- Hiromi Masunaga CED
- Flora Banuett CNSM
- Becky Nash CHHS
- Sanjian Zhang COB
- Chloe Pascual UL
- Jennifer Reed CLA
- Kirstyn Chun CAPS
- Karen Quintiliani CLA
- Nancy Matthews Lecturer
- Praveen Shankar COE
- Ryan Taber COTA
- All nominees elected
- 10. ADJOURNMENT- organizational meeting adjourned at 2:50 pm