ACADEMIC SENATE Minutes ORGANIZATIONAL MEETING FOR 2022-23 ACADEMIC YEAR

Thursday, May 5, 2022, 2:00 - 2:30 pm

Zoom link: https://csulb.zoom.us/j/97606370449

- 1. CALL TO ORDER- 2:04 pm
- 2. APPROVAL OF AGENDA- moved by N. Schurer, seconded and approved.
- 3. WELCOME OF NEW SENATORS- new Senators are welcomed and asked to identify themselves.
- 4. ELECTION OF CHAIR- Pei-Fang Hung elected as Chair- vote 60-5
- 5. ELECTION OF VICE CHAIR- Norbert Schürer elected as Vice Chair- vote 51-11
- 6. ELECTION OF SECRETARY-nominations solicited for Secretary- Ryan Fischer nominated himself. Ryan Fischer elected 57-6 as secretary
- 7. SEQUENTIAL ELECTION OF **FOUR** MEMBERS AT LARGE OF THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE
 - Each candidate will be allowed 60 seconds to make a statement.
 - The four at-large members of the Executive Committee are elected sequentially, i.e., *first* we elect at-large member #1, *then* at-large member #2, *then* at-large member #3, and *finally* at-large member #4. Results are below.
 - RED = Elected

- 4		
	Member at large #1	Vote 1
а	Aparna Nayak	35
b	Nancy Meyer-Adams	29
	Member at large #2	Vote 1
а	Nancy Meyer-Adams	31
b	Al Colburn	36
	Member at large #3	Vote 1
а	Nancy Meyer-Adams	54
b	Alessandro Russo	13
	Member at large #4	Vote 1
а	Mehrdad Aliasgari	56
b	Abstain	13

- 8. ELECTION/CONFIRMATION OF COLLEGE/UNIT REPRESENTATIVES TO THE NOMINATING COMMITTEE-One senator from each academic college (two from the College of Liberal Arts), one senator from the University Library, one senator from Counseling and Psychological Services, and one lecturer senator. Nominations below: Entire slate elected; Yes 56, no 2
 - CLA- C. Warren & Cory Wright
 - COB- Laura Gonzalez Alana
 - COE- Perla Ayala
 - CED- Heather Macias
 - UL- Alexis Pavenick
 - COTA- Steve Boyer
 - CNSM Jeffrey Pair

- Lecturer none
- CAPS Kirstyn Chun
- CHHS None

9. ADJOURNMENT

ACADEMIC SENATE Minutes MEETING #17

Thursday, May 5, 2022, 2:30 – 4:00 pm

Zoom link: https://csulb.zoom.us/j/97606370449

- 1. CALL TO ORDER- 2:47 pm NH began with land acknowledgement
- 2. APPROVAL OF AGENDA- Moved by P. Hung, seconded and approved.
- 3. APPROVAL OF MINUTESO Moved by P. Hung, seconded and approved.
 - 3.1 Academic Senate meeting of April 21, 2022
- 4. REPORTS OF STANDING COMMITTEES AND COUNCILS
 - 4.1 Executive Committee: Announcements- NH reminds voting and zoom etiquette as well as how to make a comment/support in chat
 - 4.2 Nominating Committee Nominations- slate of nominees elected yes-52, no-2. General Education Evaluation Committee (GEEC)
 - Dr. Peter Kreysa CHHS-FCS Associate Professor- Term 2025

Panel on Professional Responsibility (PPR)

- Dr. Christine Costa CHHS Nursing Associate Professor Term 2025
- Dr. Joshua Kotter CHHS Kinesiology Associate Professor Term 2025
- 5. CONSENT CALENDAR N/A

6. SPECIAL ORDERS

- 6.1 Report from CSULB President Jane Conoley, TIME CERTAIN 2:40 PM- JC reports that COVID # are down and mask mandates will be removed on 6-1-22 pending further changes. COVID pre-screen will also end then.
- 6.2 Report from CFA Co-President, Deborah Hamm- DH reminds AS of all the things CFA does. Thanks to the bargaining team for facilitating faculty raises, as well as those on campus at PR and FA for doing the paperwork for the pay raises.

7. UNFINISHED BUSINESS

- 7.1 Proposed Revision of PS 17-08: Academic Administrators, Policies and Procedures for the Selection, Appointment, and Review of (AS-1114-20/FPPC)—SECOND READING- resuming on line 244, Praveen Shankar amendment, moved and seconded. moving text; vote on amendment, yes=39 no=6. Amendment passes. Line 277, M. Aliasgari amendment, moved and seconded. Add "finalist." No vote on amendment needed, as it is "friendly." Amendment passes. Line 289, M. Aliasgari, moved and seconded. Add "add staff..." Vote on amendment, yes=29 no=16. Amendment passes. Line 326, Perrone/Hultgren amendment, moved and seconded, approved by acclamation. Line 334 N Wieland amendment, moved and seconded. Vote on amendment, yes=37 no=11. Amendment passes. Line 464, add section 7.1.1, P. Soni amendment, moved and seconded. vote on amendment, yes=43 no=6. Amendment passes. Line 503, new section 8.5; Zentgraf amendment, moved and seconded. Add "right to obtain summative..." Vote on amendment, yes=43 no=5. Amendment passes. Vote on policy as a whole; yes=48 no=3. Policy passes.
- 7.2 Proposed Revision of PS 17-19: Policy on the Rights and Privileges of Emeritus Faculty (AS-1132-20/FPPC) — SECOND READING – Tabled.
- 7.3 Proposed Revision of PS 09-06: Probation and Disqualification (AS-1172-22)—SECOND READING, TIME

CERTAIN, 3:35 PM- NH recaps amendments, terminology changes and re-ordering of text. Vote on policy as a whole; yes=43 no=4. **Policy passes.**

- Proposal for a new BA in Psychology Cohort Program (AS-1121-20/CEPC/URC)—SECOND READING, TIME CERTAIN 3:50 PM
 Guests: Dr. Jeet Joshee, Associate Vice President, International Programs and Global Engagement; Dr.
 Dan O'Connor, Associate Dean, College of Liberal Arts; Dr. Sherry Span, Chair, Department of Psychology; Matt Reimers, Program Developer, CPIE; Dr. Dave Whitney, Professor, Department of Psychology- DW summarizes this proposal. Vote on proposal; yes=36 no=6. Proposal passes
- 8. ADJOURNMENT= 4:00 pm

AS 5-5-22 Attendance
Adam Schwartz
Alan Colburn
Alessandro Russo
Alexis Medina
Alexis Pavenick
Ali Igmen
Alicia Del Campo
Alyssa Faiferlick
Andrea Caban (Philip Thompson)
angel
Ann Kinsey
Anna Behar-Russell
Anthony Regina
Aparna Nayak
Becky Nash
Bita Ghafoori
Boualoy Dayton
Brian Katz (BK)
Brooke Winder
Chailin Cummings
Chloe Pascual
Chris Brazier
Chris Fowler
Chris Karadjov
Christine Kang
Christopher Warren
Christopher Knight
CLA-003597787-1
Colleen Dunagan
Colleen Ryan
Cory Wright
Curtis Bennett
Dan O'Connor
Danny Paskin
Dave Whitney
David Wallace
Debby Rannalli
Debi Windle
Deborah Hamm
Dhushy Sathianathan
Diandra
Dina Perrone
Gus Del Rivero
Toni
Eileen Klink
Elizabeth Guzik

Eric Chhour
Ferdinand Arcinue
Emanuel Preciado
Heather Macias
Henry O'Lawrence
Holly Lee
Isaac Rodriguez
Jalal Torabzadeh
jane Conoley
Jeet Joshee
Jeffrey Adair
Jeffrey D. Cook
Jeffrey Pair
Jessica Olague
Jessica Russell
Jody Cormack
Joe Nino
Johannes Stosch
Jonathan O'Brien
Karen Quintiliani
Karyn Scissum Gunn
Kathryn Chew
Keith Freesemann
Kelly Janousek
Kerry Johnson
Kierstin Stickney
Kirstyn Chun
Kris Zentgraf
Kristi Hagans
Kristin Bonetati
LaShea English
Laura Portnoi
Laura Gonzalez Alana
Leah Nieto
Leakhena NOU
Linna Li
Lucy huckabay
Margaret Merryfield
Maria Lopez
Maria Organista
Mark Fastner
Matthew Reimers
Maureen Lem
Mehrdad Aliasgari
Melissa Dyo
Michael Solt
Mimi Nakajima

Min Yao		
Nancy Meyer-Adams		
Nathaniel Ventura		
Neal Terrell		
Neil Hultgren		
Nellie Wieland		
Norbert Schürer		
Oscar Navarro		
Pei-Fang Hung		
Perla Ayala		
Peter Kreysa		
Praveen		
Praveen Shankar		
Prince Angulo		
robin		
Ryan Fischer		
Sean Smith		
Shabnam Sodagari		
Shadnaz Asgari		
Shahab Derakhshan		
Sharon Olson		
Shelbi Felter		
Sherry Span		
Stephanie Hartzell		
Steve boyer		
Tanya Kim		
Tina Zhao		
Vasanthy Narayanaswami		
williammohr		
Total: 122		